Watch: Controversial No-Goal Makes Big Impact on Game 7


The San Jose Sharks advanced to the NHL’s Western Conference finals with a 3-2 win over the Colorado Avalanche in Game 7 on Wednesday night at the SAP Center.

But the win was marred by a controversial call where the referees overturned what would have been the game-tying goal.

With 12:11 left in the second period, the Avs’ Colin Wilson took a pass from Nathan MacKinnon and slipped it past San Jose goaltender Martin Jones to tie the game at 2-2.

But Sharks video coach Dan Darrow thought Avs winger Gabriel Landeskog was offside, so they issued a challenge.

After the referees reviewed it, they agreed.

Watch: Matt Gaetz Hilariously Torches Democrat Senator Accused of Bribery on House Floor

The goal was overturned and the score remained 2-1 San Jose.

The Sharks added a goal by Joonas Donskoi later in the period to go up 3-1, and they held on to win 3-2 and advance.

After reviewing the replays, the officials determined that Landeskog, who was going back to the bench after a changeover, was still in the offensive zone when MacKinnon touched the puck.

Do you think the refs made the right call?

Officials said Landeskog “did not legally tag up at the blue line prior to the puck entering the offensive zone.”

According to, “The decision was made in accordance to Rule 83.3 (i), ‘All players of the offending team clear the zone at the same instant (skate contact with the blue line) permitting the attacking players to re-enter the attacking zone.'”

But some questioned whether Landeskog was really offside. This slow-motion replay showed his skate appeared to be on the blue line at the time the puck crossed it.

Ex-Anaheim Ducks Forward Nic Kerdiles Dies at 29

“It’s a clumsy mistake, you know? ‘Get off the ice.’ If I could have done something different on that play, I would have jumped the boards a lot quicker,” Landeskog said, reported ESPN.

“Hopefully, the linesmen got it right,” he said. “I haven’t been in that position at all, to have to make that call in a Game 7. It’s a tough job. It’s a tough call to make. Hopefully, they got it right. I’ll take the blame for that. Ultimately, it’s my skates on the ice. But there was a lot more to the game than that.”

Avalanche coach Jared Bednar was surprised at such a ticky-tack call, especially in Game 7 of a playoff series.

“I would say it’s pretty rare,” Bednar said, according to The Denver Post. “In a Game 7, even more so. That player has nothing to do with the play that’s going on. It seems like such a minute detail, whether he’s onside or offside. So it’s strange, you know? It’s strange. And it’s something we could have done without tonight, no question.”

Bottom, there was still plenty of hockey left to play and Colorado had an opportunity to overcome that.

“No matter what that call is, we have to keep playing,” Avs defenseman Ian Cole said, reported Mile High Sports. “We have to learn that when things don’t go our way, we have to take momentum back as quickly as possible.”

The ridiculousness of the circumstances of this call — whether it was right or wrong — is another example of why the NHL might want to review its offside review rule.

Truth and Accuracy

Submit a Correction →

We are committed to truth and accuracy in all of our journalism. Read our editorial standards.

Dave is a lifelong sports fan who has been writing for The Wildcard since 2017. He has been a writer for more than 20 years for a variety of publications.
Dave has been writing about sports for The Wildcard since 2017. He's been a reporter and editor for over 20 years, covering everything from sports to financial news. In addition to writing for The Wildcard, Dave has covered mutual funds for Pensions and Investments, meetings and conventions, money market funds, personal finance, associations, and he currently covers financial regulations and the energy sector for Macallan Communications. He has won awards for both news and sports reporting.
Languages Spoken
Topics of Expertise