Pro Bowl Rosters Released, 7 Players from One Team Make the Cut

Combined Shape

Three teams earned the lion’s share of selections to the AFC Pro Bowl team led by the 11-3 Los Angeles Chargers, who had an NFL-high seven players named to the team.

Veteran quarterback Philip Rivers was named to the Pro Bowl for the eighth time in his career.

He is joined by running back Melvin Gordon, wide receiver Keenan Allen, center Mike Pouncey, defensive end Melvin Ingram, free safety Derwin James and special teamer Adrian Phillips. James and Phillips are both starters.

CDC Quietly Changes Major Part of 'How COVID-19 Spreads' Page, Adds Advice That Millions Didn't Get When Trump Was in Office

Two teams landed six players on the AFC Pro Bowl team — the Kansas City Chiefs and the Pittsburgh Steelers.

One of the six selections from the Chiefs is quarterback and MVP candidate Patrick Mahomes. Mahomes is having an all-time season for the Chiefs. His 45 touchdown passes place him sixth on the single-season list; with two games left, he’s likely to become just the third player behind Peyton Manning (55) and Tom Brady (50) to reach the 50-touchdown mark. With 4,543 passing yards, Mahomes has a chance to become only the 10th player to throw for more than 5,000 yards in a season.

Other Chiefs named to the AFC Pro Bowl team include offensive tackle Eric Fisher, linebacker Dee Ford, wide receiver Tyreek Hill, tight end Travis Kelce and fullback Anthony Sherman. Mahomes, Hill, Sherman and Kelce are all starters.

The Steelers also had six players named to the team including running back James Conner, wide receiver Antonio Brown, offensive tackle Alejandro Villanueva, offensive guard David DeCastro, center Maurkice Pouncey and defensive lineman Cameron Heyward. Conner, DeCastro, Villanueva and Pouncey are all starters.

Do you agree with the Pro Bowl selections?

Other AFC starters include Houston Texans wide receiver DeAndre Hopkins, Tennessee Titans tackle Taylor Lewan, Baltimore Ravens guard Marshal Yanda, Texans defensive end J.J. Watt, Browns defensive end Myles Garrett, Cincinnati Bengals defensive lineman Geno Atkins, Titans defensive lineman Jurrell Casey, Denver Broncos linebacker Von Miller, Texans linebacker Jadeveon Clowney, Ravens inside linebacker C.J. Mosley, Miami Dolphins cornerback Xavien Howard, Jacksonville Jaguars cornerback Jalen Ramsey, New York Jets strong safety Jamal Adams, Jets kicker Jason Myers, Titans punter Brett Kern and Jets return specialist Andre Roberts.

Other AFC reserves include New England Patriots quarterback Tom Brady, Indianapolis Colts guard Quenton Nelson, Colts tight end Eric Ebron, Texans inside linebacker Benardrick McKinney, Patriots cornerback Stephon Gilmore, Browns cornerback Denzel Ward and Ravens free safety Eric Weddle.

With only two selections, the Patriots have their fewest Pro Bowlers since 2008. It’s Brady’s 14th selection, the most in NFL history.

What the People Complaining About Tebow Returning to the NFL While Kaepernick Is Unemployed Are Missing

The offensive starters for the NFC Pro Bowl team are New Orleans Saints quarterback Drew Brees, Los Angeles Rams running back Todd Gurley, San Francisco 49ers fullback Kyle Juszczyk, Atlanta Falcons wide receiver Julio Jones, Saints wide receiver Michael Thomas, Philadelphia Eagles tight end Zach Ertz, Dallas Cowboys tackle Tyron Smith, Saints tackle Terron Armstead, Cowboys guard Zack Martin, Eagles guard Brandon Brooks and Falcons center Alex Mack.

Defensive starters include Saints defensive end Cameron Jordan, Cowboys defensive end Demarcus Lawrence, Rams defensive lineman Aaron Donald, Eagles defensive lineman Fletcher Cox, Chicago Bears linebacker Khalil Mack, Washington Redskins linebacker Ryan Kerrigan, Carolina Panthers inside linebacker Luke Kuechly, Bears cornerback Kyle Fuller, Cardinals cornerback Patrick Peterson, Bears free safety Eddie Jackson and New York Giants strong safety Landon Collins.

NFC special team starters include Giants kicker Aldrick Rosas, Seattle Seahawks punter Michael Dickson, Bears return specialist Tarik Cohen and Rams special teamer Cory Littleton.

NFC reserves include Rams quarterback Jared Goff, Green Bay Packers quarterback Aaron Rodgers, Giants running back Saquon Barkley, Cowboys running back Ezekiel Elliott, Minnesota Vikings wide receiver Adam Thielen, Packers wide receiver Davante Adams, 49ers tight end George Kittle, Redskins tackle Trent Williams, Panthers tackle Trai Turner, Saints center Max Unger, Vikings defensive end Danielle Hunter, Bears defensive lineman Akiem Hicks, Vikings linebacker Anthony Barr, Seahawks linebacker Bobby Wagner, Lions cornerback Darius Slay, Cowboys cornerback Byron Jones and Vikings free safety Harrison Smith.

The Saints, Bears and Cowboys all had five selections, while the Rams and Vikings had four each.

The Oakland Raiders, Buffalo Bills and Tampa Bay Buccaneers all got shut out with no Pro Bowlers.

Truth and Accuracy

Submit a Correction →

We are committed to truth and accuracy in all of our journalism. Read our editorial standards.

, , , ,
Combined Shape
Dave is a lifelong sports fan who has been writing for The Wildcard since 2017. He has been a writer for more than 20 years for a variety of publications.
Dave has been writing about sports for The Wildcard since 2017. He's been a reporter and editor for over 20 years, covering everything from sports to financial news. In addition to writing for The Wildcard, Dave has covered mutual funds for Pensions and Investments, meetings and conventions, money market funds, personal finance, associations, and he currently covers financial regulations and the energy sector for Macallan Communications. He has won awards for both news and sports reporting.
Languages Spoken
Topics of Expertise