Mississippi State's McCowan, Schaefer earn SEC awards


Mississippi State center Teaira McCowan has been voted the Associated Press’ Southeastern Conference player of the year and Vic Schaefer is the SEC coach of the year.

The 16-member media panel made McCowan a unanimous first-team all-SEC selection. She was joined on the squad by Mississippi State teammate Anriel Howard. Other first-team all-SEC picks included Texas A&M’s Chennedy Carter, Missouri’s Sophie Cunningham and Georgia’s Caliya Robinson.

This marks the second straight season that Carter, Cunningham and McCowan have earned first-team AP all-SEC honors. Schaefer has been named coach of the year two straight times and three of the last five seasons.

Kentucky freshman Rhyne Howard was named the SEC newcomer of the year and also earned second-team all-SEC honors along with teammate Maci Morris. The second team also includes Tennessee’s Rennia Davis, Arkansas’ Chelsea Dungee and South Carolina’s Tyasha Harris.

Robinson and Harris were both second-team selections last year.

Meghan, Duchess of Sussex, Feels 'Rejected' as 'Homesick' Prince Harry Looks for New Residence

McCowan and Schaefer helped Mississippi State (27-2, 15-1) win the SEC regular-season title and earn the No. 1 seed in the conference tournament starting Wednesday at Greenville, South Carolina.

“Winning the Southeastern Conference championship, I think it’s the hardest thing to do in the country,” Schaefer said after the Bulldogs clinched the regular-season title outright Sunday with a 68-64 victory at South Carolina. “I’m awfully proud of this team.”

McCowan is Mississippi State’s first AP SEC player of the year since LaToya Thomas earned the honor in back-to-back seasons in 2002 and 2003.

The 6-foot-7 senior center ranks third among all Division I players in rebounding (13.4) and fourth in field-goal percentage (.654). McCowan also averages 17.3 points and is the SEC’s fifth-leading scorer.

McCowan was the lone SEC player included among 10 semifinalists for the Naismith Trophy given annually to the nation’s top player. She owns Mississippi State records for career rebounds (1,404) and double-doubles (63).


FIRST TEAM (listed alphabetically)

Chennedy Carter, Texas A&M, G, 5-foot-7, Soph., Manfield, Texas

Sophie Cunningham, Missouri, G, 6-1, Sr., Columbia, Missouri

Federal Judge Orders Historic Ship SS United States to Leave Its Berth

Anriel Howard, Mississippi State, F, 5-11, Sr., Atlanta (Texas A&M transfer)

u-Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State, C, 6-7, Sr., Brenham, Texas

Caliya Robinson, Georgia, F, 6-3, Sr., Marietta, Georgia



Rennia Davis, Tennessee, G/F, 6-2, Soph., Jacksonville, Florida

Chelsea Dungee, Arkansas, G, 5-11, Soph., Sapulpa, Oklahoma (Oklahoma transfer)

Tyasha Harris, South Carolina, G, 5-10, Jr., Noblesville, Indiana

Rhyne Howard, Kentucky, F, 6-2, Fr., Cleveland, Tennessee

Maci Morris, Kentucky, G, 6 feet, Sr., Pineville, Kentucky


Player of the year – Teaira McCowan, Mississippi State

Coach of the year – Vic Schaefer, Mississippi State

Newcomer of the year – Rhyne Howard, Kentucky



AP All-SEC Voting Panel

Robert Cessna, The Eagle (Bryan-College Station, Texas); David Cloninger, The Post and Courier (Charleston, South Carolina); Greg Hadley, The State (Columbia, South Carolina); Gene Henley, Chattanooga (Tennessee) Times Free Press; Tyler Horka, The Clarion-Ledger (Jackson, Mississippi); Justin Lee, Opelika-Auburn (Alabama) News; Courtney Lyle, SEC Network; Dave Matter, St. Louis Post-Dispatch; Adam Minichino, The Commercial Dispatch (Columbus, Mississippi); Alyssa Orange, KNWA (Fayetteville, Arkansas); Scott Rabalais, The Advocate (Baton Rouge, Louisiana); Dylan Rudolph, Independent Florida Alligator; Adam Sparks, The Tennessean (Nashville, Tennessee); Josh Sullivan, Lexington (Kentucky) Herald Leader; Nick Suss, The Clarion-Ledger (Jackson, Mississippi); Taylor Vortherms, The Daily Times (Maryville, Tennessee)

The Western Journal has not reviewed this Associated Press story prior to publication. Therefore, it may contain editorial bias or may in some other way not meet our normal editorial standards. It is provided to our readers as a service from The Western Journal.

Truth and Accuracy

Submit a Correction →

We are committed to truth and accuracy in all of our journalism. Read our editorial standards.

The Associated Press is an independent, not-for-profit news cooperative headquartered in New York City. Their teams in over 100 countries tell the world’s stories, from breaking news to investigative reporting. They provide content and services to help engage audiences worldwide, working with companies of all types, from broadcasters to brands. Photo credit: @AP on Twitter
The Associated Press was the first private sector organization in the U.S. to operate on a national scale. Over the past 170 years, they have been first to inform the world of many of history's most important moments, from the assassination of Abraham Lincoln and the bombing of Pearl Harbor to the fall of the Shah of Iran and the death of Pope John Paul.

Today, they operate in 263 locations in more than 100 countries relaying breaking news, covering war and conflict and producing enterprise reports that tell the world's stories.
New York City