Share
Sports

Watch: Controversial Manny Machado Play Sparks Rant from Announcers - 'Bush League!'

Share

The baseball season is just about a week old and there’s already some controversy surrounding Manny Machado.

The new San Diego Padres third baseman, who signed a 10-year, $300 million contract in the offseason, got called out for interference on a foul pop-up during the sixth inning of the Padres’ 8-5 loss to the Arizona Diamondbacks on Tuesday at Petco Park.

Machado popped it up in foul territory near the first base line. Arizona catcher John Ryan Murphy got under the ball but dropped it. However, the umpire ruled that Machado interfered with Murphy, and he was called out.

You be the judge.

Trending:
Cutter Spots Chinese Fleet Near Americas, Third Officer Looks at Radar and Instantly Sees the Red Flags

It doesn’t look like Machado touched him, but he ran very close to him and did drop that bat near Murphy’s feet in his peripheral vision.

Umpire Tim Welke explained his call after the game.

Did Machado interfere with the catcher?

“A batter has certain protections when he’s in the batters’ box when he’s the batter,” Welke said, reported MLB.com. “The minute the batter makes contact with the ball, he’s no longer the batter, he’s the batter-runner. The batter-runner has to give way to a fielder making a play on a batted ball. …

“It doesn’t matter if it’s intentional or not. A runner always has to give way to a fielder making a play on a batted ball.”

Padres manager Andy Green charged on to the field to argue the call and was ejected.

Diamondbacks announcer Bob Brenly called the play by Machado “bush league.”

Related:
MLB Superstar Responds After Broadcaster Is Suspended for Alleged Racist Comments: 'I'm Not Offended'

“He’s done some questionable things throughout the course of his career. Look at this. This is bush league right here. That’s bush league,” Brenly said on the broadcast.

Machado denied that he was trying to interfere with Murphy.

“I hit the fly ball, looked up, saw it, put my head down and went to go run,” he said, according to NBC Sports’ Hardball Talk. “I don’t even think I touched him. (Murphy) even said, ‘No.'”

Machado is no stranger to controversial plays. Last year in the playoffs while he was with the Los Angeles Dodgers, Machado was fined for kicking the leg of Milwaukee Brewers first baseman Jesus Aguilar as he ran out a grounder.

Reigning NL MVP Christian Yelich called Machado at the time a “dirty player.”

“He’s a player that has a history of those types of incidents,” Yelich said. “One time is an accident. Repeated over and over and over again, you’re just a dirty player. It’s a dirty play by a dirty player.”

Of the Murphy play, Brenly later added: “Machado, one day, is gonna pull one of his hijinks on the wrong guy and he’s gonna get dropped in his tracks, and he’s gonna deserve it.”

Truth and Accuracy

Submit a Correction →



loading

We are committed to truth and accuracy in all of our journalism. Read our editorial standards.

Tags:
, , ,
Share
Dave is a lifelong sports fan who has been writing for The Wildcard since 2017. He has been a writer for more than 20 years for a variety of publications.
Dave has been writing about sports for The Wildcard since 2017. He's been a reporter and editor for over 20 years, covering everything from sports to financial news. In addition to writing for The Wildcard, Dave has covered mutual funds for Pensions and Investments, meetings and conventions, money market funds, personal finance, associations, and he currently covers financial regulations and the energy sector for Macallan Communications. He has won awards for both news and sports reporting.
Location
Massachusetts
Languages Spoken
English
Topics of Expertise
Sports




loading

Conversation