41 Years After His Death, Elvis Presley Awarded Presidential Medal of Freedom

Combined Shape

So many artists become famous after their deaths. Great painters, writers and composers of the past certainly received the most acclaim years, decades, or centuries after their passing.

That’s the good and bad of being ahead of the times: You’re leaving a gift for future generations, but you’ll never see it celebrated during your own lifetime.

Elvis’ fame wasn’t like that. Elvis was a big name during his time, and is a household name even now.

And he is still being recognized for his contributions to society — both because of his music and his time in the military. President Donald Trump will be awarding him the Presidential Medal of Freedom on Nov. 16.

CNN's Don Lemon Fails to Get Guest to Take 'Bait,' Instead Gets Contradicted on Slavery

The award recognizes those who have made great positive impact on society.

The White House released a statement outlining the award and its recipients, detailing exactly why Elvis has been chosen as a recipient.

“This prestigious award is the Nation’s highest civilian honor,” the statement explained, “which may be awarded by the President to individuals who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors.”

“Elvis Presley defined American culture to billions of adoring fans around the world,” the statement read. “Elvis fused gospel, country, and rhythm and blues to create a sound all his own, selling more than a billion records.”

Are you an Elvis fan?

“Elvis also served nearly 2 years in the United States Army, humbly accepting the call to serve despite his fame.”

“He later starred in 31 films, drew record-breaking audiences to his shows, sent television ratings soaring, and earned 14 GRAMMY Award nominations.”

“He ultimately won 3 GRAMMY Awards for his gospel music. Elvis Presley remains an enduring American icon 4 decades after his death.”

Trump Blasts Oscars in New Statement

He’s not the only person to receive recognition after his death. Justice Antonin Scalia and Babe Ruth will be given the same honor.

There are seven people in total who will be given the Presidential Medal of Freedom, including Roger Staubach, Alan C. Page, Orrin G. Hatch, and Miriam Adelson.

Truth and Accuracy

Submit a Correction →

We are committed to truth and accuracy in all of our journalism. Read our editorial standards.

, , , ,
Amanda holds an MA in Rhetoric and TESOL from Cal Poly Pomona. After teaching composition and logic for several years, she's strayed into writing full-time and especially enjoys animal-related topics.
As of January 2019, Amanda has written over 1,000 stories for The Western Journal but doesn't really know how. Graduating from California State Polytechnic University with a MA in Rhetoric/Composition and TESOL, she wrote her thesis about metacognitive development and the skill transfer between reading and writing in freshman students.
She has a slew of interests that keep her busy, including trying out new recipes, enjoying nature, discussing ridiculous topics, reading, drawing, people watching, developing curriculum, and writing bios. Sometimes she has red hair, sometimes she has brown hair, sometimes she's had teal hair.
With a book on productive communication strategies in the works, Amanda is also writing and illustrating some children's books with her husband, Edward.
Austin, Texas
Languages Spoken
English und ein bißchen Deutsch
Topics of Expertise
Faith, Animals, Cooking